Stellenbosch Football Club

Stellenbosch FC honours 2022/23 award winners


Júnior Mendieta, Iqraam Rayners, Devin Titus, and Lee Langeveldt were among the winners at Stellenbosch FC’s recent awards luncheon.

Stellenbosch FC hosted its much-anticipated 2022/23 season awards luncheon in Stellenbosch on Tuesday afternoon where the club celebrated the players and staff who had excelled the most during the previous campaign.

Júnior Mendieta, in absentia following his move Mamelodi Sundowns last month, emerged as the big winner on the day after being crowned as the SFC Footballer of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year following a season in which he scored 10 goals and recorded eight assists.

Iqraam Rayners walked away with the SFC Top Goalscorer award following his sensational return of 15 goals in just 14 appearances, while Devin Titus won the SFC Young Player of the Season award, an award which was this year renamed in honour of the late Stellenbosch FC player, Oshwin Andries.

Club captain Lee Langeveldt’s on and off-field contributions were recognised with the SFC Sportsman of the Year accolade while goalkeeper coach Pernell McKop received the SFC CEO’s award from CEO Rob Benadie for his commitment to the club.

At reserve level, Stellenbosch FC’s DStv Diski Challenge captain Kyle Jurgens, who has been promoted to the first team this season, won the SFC Reserves Player of the Season award, while DDC Golden Boot winner Mervin Boji won the SFC DDC Top Goalscorer award. for his 18 goals. Shaakir Ahmed, meanwhile, was named DDC Sportsman of the Year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The winners from the 2022/23 Stellenbosch FC awards luncheon:

SFC Sportsman of the Year: Lee Langeveldt (nominees, Keegan Pool and Sibongiseni Mthethwa)
SFC Footballer of the Year: Júnior Mendieta (nominees, Sibongiseni Mthethwa and Iqraam Rayners)
SFC Players’ Player of the Season: Júnior Mendieta (nominees, Sibongiseni Mthethwa and Devin Titus)
SFC Top Goalscorer: Iqraam Rayners
SFC Young Player of the Season: Devin Titus (nominees, Ibraheem Jabaar and Olwethu Makhanya)
SFC CEO’s award: Pernell McKop

SFC DDC Footballer of the Year: Kyle Jurgens (nominees, Ethan Felix and Jaylen Trent)
SFC Top Goalscorer: Mervin Boji
DDC Sportsman of the Year: Shaakir Ahmed (nominees, Simthandile Sishi and David Passman)

The occasion was also used as an opportunity for Stellenbosch FC to reveal the club’s new home and away kits for the 2023/24 campaign, the style and design of which can be seen in the video below.