Stellenbosch Football Club

Six Stellies stars named in South Africa’s preliminary COSAFA Cup squad

Antonio Van Wyk

Stellenbosch FC’s Fawaaz Basadien, Athenkosi Mcaba, Thabo Moloisane, Devin Titus, Deano van Rooyen, and Antonio van Wyk have been named in South Africa’s preliminary squad for the 2024 COSAFA Cup.

On Friday afternon, South Africa’s COSAFA Cup coach, Helman Mkhalele, announced a 50-man provisional squad that will compete in the 2024 edition of the competition between 26 June and 7 July.

Read | Rayners scores fastest-ever Bafana Bafana goal in win over Zimbabwe

Among those in contention to make the final squad are six players hailing from Stellenbosch FC, including national team newcomers Fawaaz Basadien, Thabo Moloisane, Deano van Rooyen, and Devin Titus.

Athenkosi Mcaba and Antonio van Wyk, who both represented Bafana Bafana at the competition in 2022, have also been included in the preliminary selection.

The announcement of the quintet’s inclusion comes just days after Iqraam Rayners featured for South Africa in back-to-back 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Nigeria and Zimbabwe, while Jayden Adams was an unused substitute in both ties.